Exfoliating Facial Scrub

Coconut Oil has many different uses which is starting to make me think it has some kind of super powers! I’ve posted previously that you can take orally to help the growth of your hair and you can also use the oil as a once a week moisturizing hair mask but did you know you can also use it as an exfoliating homemade facial scrub mixed with baking soda? Yep, a natural at home remedy that’s an inexpensive fix compared to some of your high dollar department store products. The Coconut Oil I picked up at a Health Food store for $5 and the Baking Soda for $2, how do you beat it? Mix equal parts baking soda with coconut oil and massage into face. It is a thick consistency in its solid form (room temperature)so you can heat by running under hot water for a couple minutes to loosen it up. Rub onto face and rinse well with warm water to remove all residue. You may feel like your face feels a little greasy but your skin absorbs it right away and I follow with a light moisturizer. It’s an easy once a week way to exfoliate your skin and the coconut oil is amazing for your skin!
I’ve read lots of testimonials online from blogs to sites where people swear by it and feels it makes them look younger than their actual age so I’m definitely on board! I’m telling you it has “SUPER POWERS!”
FYI: Great for Dry Skin!

6 Comments

Filed under Beauty tips & tricks

6 responses to “Exfoliating Facial Scrub

  1. ravi07887

    Thanks for the suggestion. I always ignore it – today will do the home made face scrubs trick…

  2. I tried this scrub it work really well i love it.

  3. Brandy

    Would it be ok to substitue Olive oil for the coconut oil for this recipe?

    • Hi Brandy! I guess this answer would vary and up for debate depending on who you ask. I haven’t personally used olive oil directly on my skin but I was just reading up on this last week and thinking of trying it myself b/c its extremely dry here in colorado and my skin is desperately drinking my moisturizers and nothing seems to do the trick. Olive oil has been used since ancient times by the Romans and people seem to think it helps with your natural oils so its worth a shot but it in moderation. I think you will be fine!

Leave a Reply

