Baked Oatmeal Casserole

I’m always looking for new breakfast recipes to try out and I stumbled across this one at Urban Nester. If your a super healthy person its a gluten-free baked oatmeal casserole and for myself its a nice change from the regular egg routine. It can get pretty boring trying to always get creative with eggs, so anything outside of the normal routine excites my taste buds. It makes a whole baking dish so its good for a few days to munch on or serve to company with a side of turkey bacon…YUM!
Ingredients
2 cups gluten-free rolled oats
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup walnut pieces
1 cup raspberries {any berries work}
1/2 cup milk chocolate chips
2 cups milk
1 large egg
3 tablespoons butter, melted
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 ripe banana, peeled, 1/2-inch slices
Preheat oven to 375 degrees and generously spray baking dish with pam. In a large bowl, mix together the oats, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, salt, half the walnuts, half the raspberries and half the chocolate. (Save the other half of raspberries, walnuts and chocolate for the top of the oatmeal). In another large bowl, whisk together the milk, egg, butter, and vanilla extract. Add the oat mixture to prepared baking dish. Arrange the remaining raspberries, walnuts and chocolate on top. Add the banana slices to the top then pour the milk mixture over everything. Gently shake the baking dish to help the milk mixture go throughout the oats. Bake 35 to 40 minutes or until the top is nicely golden brown and the milk mixture has set. For an extra tasty top, sprinkle a tablespoon or so of extra brown sugar.
NOTE: you can make it healthier by switching the milk chocolate with dark chocolate, switch brown sugar with stevia, use almond milk or fat free milk, and almonds in place of walnuts ๐Ÿ™‚

19 Comments

Filed under Breakfast

19 responses to “Baked Oatmeal Casserole

  1. this looks pretty cool, i might have to try it.

    http://www.LoveNiki.com

  2. I love baked oatmeal…This recipe sounds sooo good! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I’m trying this tomorrow – looks delish!

  4. Hmmmm….very interesting! Take away the walnuts and I’ll try it! I’ll try anything once. It’s good, huh?

  5. Do you think this could be done in a crockpot? I have made oatmeal in it before from dried oats so I’m thinking it could…maybe I will try it and let you know!

  6. A delightful & good for you breakfast! ๐Ÿ™‚ Yum!

  7. petit4chocolatier

    Excellent recipe! I am going to try making it.

    I am going to reblog the recipe to my new reblog page; I hope others find your beautiful blog!

    Sincerely,
    judy

  8. karenworth

    This sounds so good. Thi is a recipe I do for steel cut oatmeal.
    http://relovedrecipes.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=295&action=edit

  9. Yummy! I think I will try this. Thank you for visiting my blog.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  10. Pingback: Kitchen Workout #8 « pugtato

  11. Omg this looks like a great way to start the morning! Delicious! Love your blog!

Leave a Reply

