Pumpkin Seeds

What’s the saying? Waste not, Want not? At least that’s what I’ve always been told. So, I tried to make sure I used other parts of the pumpkin after my pumpkin carving night by saving and rinsing the seeds, to roast in the oven. I wish I would of been a little quicker with saving more of the insides to use, for a pumpkin facial! Apparently all cylinders weren’t clicking at the time and I threw the rest of the pumpkin away but you could save yours and give yourself a nice pumpkin facial! The spa’s offer them for an elevated price so why not create your own in the luxury of your own home! 🙂 I rinsed my pumpkin seeds thoroughly with hot water and allowed them to semi-dry in the colander (I hear they roast better if you allow to dry for 24 hours). I placed them on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper, sprayed with butter flavored pam, sprinkled with salt and popped in a 350 degree pre-heated oven for 30-45 minutes, until brown.
Note: I stirred them every 5 to 10 minutes and continued to spray pam and add salt to taste.



11 Comments

Filed under Holidays / Party Ideas, Yummy Eats

11 responses to “Pumpkin Seeds

  1. Healthy Glow Nutrition

    Great idea! I will do the same when we carve our pumpkins!

    • glitzgirlzglamourguide

      They are tasty! Similar to a sunflower seed 🙂 I forgot to save some of the inside for a facial 😦 oh well, next time!

      • Healthy Glow Nutrition

        I love them! I buy them at the store all the time, but why not make them when you have pumpkins right? As far as the facial, it sounds great!

  2. What a fantastic idea!! Thanks for sharing the idea 😉

  3. Love pumpkin seeds … great sweets and the old stomach feels good about them too. Pumpkin facial – I have never heard off. Should really go to SPA more often. *smile

Leave a Reply

