Pure Barre

Well, today was my very first class and it KICKED MY BOOTY! You think bar and ballet = easy? WRONG! I know you can’t change your body with easy but I didn’t realize small isometric movements could be so painful (a good painful). At least you know its working and your getting your money’s worth. I have always done cardio and weights or had a personal trainer but a few months ago I decided to step outside my comfort zone and try new exercises. If you look under the exercise & diets category you will see others I’ve experienced recently. Anyways, Pure Barre lifts your seat, tones your thighs, abs and arms. You do exercises with the ballet bar, mat, 2 pound weights, a stretch band, and small medicine ball. Don’t be fooled by the 2 pound weights! They claim you can see results in 10 classes and I believe it! Its new to me so I felt like a fish out of water but I’m not going to let it stop me from conquering and going back. After all, I have to work off all this DELICIOUS FOOD I’m always cooking. 😉 Check it Out!

Story behind Pure Barre: It was founded by dancer, choreographer and fitness guru, Carrie Rezabek Dorr. Carrie opened her studio in the basement of an office building in Birmingham, MI in 2001. She has grown Pure Barre into what it is today and in July of 2009 it became a franchise and has locations nationwide.

14 Comments

Filed under Exercise & Diet

14 responses to “Pure Barre

  1. I read about this in my magazine!

  2. Healthy Glow Nutrition

    I love ballet (have never tried it though) but this seems like something I would love to try…

    • Well, you should see if one is in Canada it would be right up your alley!
      FYI..I can’t walk today! Everything hurts from head to toe lol, either its how out of shape I am or the best workout ever! My abs hurt, my booty, my triceps, and thighs!

      • Healthy Glow Nutrition

        I will definitely look into it. I can always use a change to my usual workout routine.

        I love that feeling you are describing 🙂 That means that it was really effective 🙂

        Have a great day Tamara, and BTW I LOVE your new blog and all your delicious recipes!

        xo Éva

      • Yes, its that “good” kind of hurt! Thank you so much that means a lot! I love hearing the positive feedback 😉
        I’ve always enjoyed cooking its about the only time I’m truly focused!
        Hope your having a great day! XO

      • Healthy Glow Nutrition

        I looked into Barre in Toronto and they offer it here 🙂 I’m going to check it out soon. I am happy for you and your new blog.

        I love cooking but I don’t do very much of it lately. It is such a good stress reliever for me as well.

        xo Éva

      • Tell me how you like Pure Barre! …Cooking is a stress reliever for me too honestly and its where I’m focused! I love food and all its flavors and presentation so its fun for me to create dishes and plate them! XO

      • Healthy Glow Nutrition

        I will for sure. I emailed them yesterday as they have personal sessions to get you familiar with the class etc.

        I think it will be a great addition to my regular boring routine of weights and cardio.

        If I had a bigger kitchen I think I would cook more (maybe it’s an excuse) but when I do cook or bake I love it. I also love food way too much but my boyfriend has been cooking lately which has given me a kitchen break 🙂 xo

  3. Barre is such a great workout – hurts a bit a first – but I feel so strong after awhile!

  4. Good luck is all I can say … and if it feels today – yesterday have done some good.

Leave a Reply

